Staycation Ideas In DFW

Dated: 07/31/2018

Views: 43

                Still trying to figure out how to squeeze in a summer vacation before school starts? Time is running out! Why not plan a staycation instead? A staycation is basically a vacation, but in your home town, to save on travel time and expenses. The Dallas-Fort Worth region offers some appealing tourist attractions, historical sites, and natural wonders to explore.

High Culture For those wanting a sophisticated, even enlightening experience consider the many museums, music, and performance venues found in Dallas, Fort Worth, and several of the suburbs.

  • Dallas Museum of Art www.dma.org

  • Dallas Symphony Orchestra at the Meyerson Symphony Center www.mydso.com

  • Kimbell Art Museum www.kimbellart.org

  • Bass Performance Hall- Home to the Fort Worth Opera, Texas Ballet Theatre, and Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra www.basshall.com  

  • Dallas Summer Musicals dallassummermusicals.org

  • Irving Arts Center www.irvingartscenter.com

  • Eismann Center www.eisemanncenter.com

  • Texas International Theatrical Arts Society titas.org

  • Meadows Museum meadowsmuseumdallas.org

  • Winspear Opera House

Nature Excursion Nature lovers have plenty of options in the area to explore and enjoy the great outdoors. Some of these are right within the city limits, others are just a short drive from town.

  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden www.dallasarboretum.org

  • Arbor Hills Nature Preserve www.plano.gov/Facilities/Facility/Details/Arbor-Hills-Nature-Preserve-20

  • Fort Worth Botanic Garden www.fwbg.org

  • Dinosaur Valley State Park (with dinosaur tracks) tpwd.texas.gov/state-parks/dinosaur-valley

  • Lake Mineral Wells State Park tpwd.texas.gov/state-parks/lake-mineral-wells

  • Fort Worth Nature Center & Refuge www.fwnaturecenter.org

  • Perot Museum of Nature and Science www.perotmuseum.org

  • Noble Planetarium www.fwmuseum.org/exhibit/noble-planetarium

Kid Focused Fun While many of these ideas can be enjoyed by the entire family, kids usually have something a little more playful in mind when it comes to vacations. Fortunately, there are fun opportunities all over!

  • Crayola Experience www.crayolaexperience.com/plano

  • Dallas Children’s Theater www.dct.org

  • Great Wolf Lodge www.greatwolf.com/grapevine

  • Sea Life Aquarium www.visitsealife.com/grapevine

  • Legoland Discovery Center dallasfw.legolanddiscoverycenter.com/plan/opening-times/?

  • Grapevine Vintage Railroad train rides www.grapevinetexasusa.com/grapevine-vintage-railroad

  • Fossil Rim Wildlife Center fossilrim.com

  • Storybook Ranch www.storybrookranch.org

History Lesson Learn more about Dallas-Fort Worth area’s past events and influencers. Discover

  • Sixth Floor Museum www.jfk.org

  • Fort Worth Stock Yards www.fortworthstockyards.org

  • Chisholm Trail Outdoor Museum www.visitcleburne.com/business/chisholm-trail-museum

  • Frontiers of Flight Museum www.flightmuseum.com

  • Dallas Holocaust Museum www.dallasholocaustmuseum.org

  • Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame texascowboyhalloffame.com

  • National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame www.cowgirl.net

  • Dallas Heritage Village www.dallasheritagevillage.org

  • Heritage Farmstead Museum www.heritagefarmstead.org

  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing moneyfactory.gov

Hometown Hollywood See some famous locations from TV and the movies, without traveling far from home. Who knows, you may even run into a celebrity or 2!

  • Magnolia Market at the Silos magnolia.com/silos

  • Gas Monkey Garage gasmonkeygarage.com

  • Southfork Ranch www.southforkranch.com

  • AT&T Stadium, a.k.a. “Jerry World” attstadium.com/tours

  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not Museum (not real celebrities, but wax figures, and more) grandprairie.ripleys.com

Other North Texas Tourist Must-Do’s

  • Reunion Tower Geo Deck reuniontower.com/explore/#geo

  • Klyde Warren Park www.klydewarrenpark.org

  • Six Flags Over Texas www.sixflags.com/overtexas

  • Medieval Times www.medievaltimes.com

  • Fair Park fairpark.org

  • Look over this list or other tourist guides and pick a few things you haven’t done before, camp out on a lake on the other side of town, or just simply stay in and enjoy some room service a little luxury. Enjoy being a tourist in your own back yard!

Contact a GroupWatson Agent TODAY for Professional Advice & Expert Direction.

~Experience the GroupWatson Difference~

Call or Email Today!
972.370.1775|[email protected]

*GROUPWATSON'S FEATURED LISTING OF THE WEEK*

Blog author image

Lauren Burden

Lauren is a lifetime North Texas resident and graduate from Texas Woman's University. She currently lives in Prosper and has been working in and around her community for the past six years, resulting ....

Latest Blog Posts

Road Work Ahead

                Traffic is a pain, no matter how you slice it. And if you’ve lived in the Dallas-Fort Worth area for any

Read More

Interest Rate News

                Yesterday, the Federal Reserve Bank (commonly referred to as just “The Fed”) decided to leave the

Read More

Staycation Ideas In DFW

                Still trying to figure out how to squeeze in a summer vacation before school starts? Time is running out!

Read More

Boost Your Air Conditioners Efficiency

                It’s hot in Texas. There’s no sugar-coating that one. To help keep your home cool for less, we’ve put

Read More